This post is to fulfill my promises of previous posts about a closing post. It's been two weeks now since I landed back in the USA, so I apologize for the delay, yet I doubt any of you really have been holding out haha. Yet I press onward... at least for myself.
Tokyo/Manila/Hong Kong was a taste of Asia, that I had never experienced. My first time going to Asia, and I was glad to go, and I only had to pay from Manila to Hong Kong ;)
But you know... it's not crazy different that the USA. People are people. I dunno, if you're expecting something profound like aliens or something you're out of luck. I use alien just cause we use that for foreigners in the USA... haha and it seems to emphasize differences to me. But there's lots of cultural differences and day to day things, that just astound me, fascinate me, and really bring out the desire to people watch in me.
Filipinos as a whole (watch me generalize) are a very nice and hospitable culture. Whereas some people are nice because they know they should be, there's a more genuine element in Filipino culture. There's a lot more I'd like to see in the Philippines. Some beaches, volcanoes, the ocean, I dunno... I can see myself going back there.
But I was reminded... that when people rip you off there, it's only like an extra couple bucks or so here. Bargaining is more fun than anything but when a taxi rips me off... I just sigh hand them money and say have a great day dude. In that phrase I try to capture the feeling, I know you just owned me cause I'm a foreigner, but I genuinely hope that this money helps you in some way.
The Philippines is a largely developing culture still. Trying to play catch-up after the effects of corruption set it back a couple decades in development. In fact, I got a small education on Filipino history, which I found to be quite fascinating. Other countries... just have so much many more interesting things to them than the USA. Our country the baby, yet trying to act like a boss, like we know best haha. Ya right.
The only really great thing about the USA is... our passports are the best thing ever. It's easy for us to visit other countries compared to other countries. They have to get visas ahead of time, pay fees, etc. First time I was genuinely glad to be American... (this may be quite jacked up to be honest, sign of taking things for granted, sigh... such a privileged loser I am).
So, I actually had a huge epic blog to write. Haha. I'm a changed man on a deeper level. I can say that with almost 100% certainty or maybe just parts of me have been more clearly brought forth in my mind/heart? People fascinate me. Other cultures fascinate me. If I could get paid just to study other cultures... I'd take it in a heart beat, so long as I can go experience it in some manner.
I was challenged by someone to talk to a stranger everyday. Haha. That's hard. I was proud of myself for striking up a conversation with my airplane mates, but that wasn't sufficient for this person... but then what qualifies as a conversation? Prob should have qualified that.
Regardless... my traveling bug has really blossomed into... a butterfly??? haha. I want to go back overseas no doubt. But I do appreciate C'ville/USA a little more. There's a lot to see here crajiii. Gotta hit up NY tho once an SK moves in. But maybe I should visit Chicago and Seattle since I have some desire to live there. Who knows, who knows. The future is so uncertain guys. All I know, is that it's time I move onto a new job cause this position is just going to keep me stagnating. But there's somethings to do here before I leave. I also still need to edit a bunch of pics... blimie. What is life. I'm trying to find things to do, but I do have a fair amount I should do already.
Notes on beer:
Filipino beers are not worth drinking... imho. I had a sick craft japanese beer tho when I was there by Doppo I think. Also Trader Joe's beers aren't that great I've decided. Although they do import some nice ones. Not that I drink a lot or anything. Maybe one a week? But I do enjoy trying new beers. Favorites as of now Brooklyner Weisse and Duck-Rabbit Milk stout. And the Hardywood Gingerbread stout (leggo Richmond!)
Sad sigh note...
News is making me slightly depressed lightly. I need to find a happy news site. And, I might also be becoming lactose. I can't tell tho because I keep on eating different foods and I can attribute my bowel issues to various things. Looks like I'll just keep at it and see what happens haha.
No comments:
Post a Comment