It's interesting... I think I've finally gotten over most of my homesickness. I won't lie guys... I was almost crying a couple times hahahaha. I laugh mostly, and part of me is shocked that it even happened. That self-pity is utterly stupid. Sigh. I was reading articles on how to get over it etc.
A couple things that helped me get over it. Editing pics, and realizing I'm seeing new things. It hit me harder. Getting pumped to go to a different church this Sunday here in Manila. I think the lack of church the past couple weeks has been taking it's toll on me. Plus before I left I was listening to Trinity's sermons online for two weeks because I just couldn't get out of bed for some reason. Laziness yes, but just sheer exhaustion. Not that those are good excuses for skipping community.
But, I'm looking forward to this Sunday :) And one more thing that helped was just telling people. I told a couple friends who have just been there for me, which is nice. Thanks be to God.
Oh God... how my walk with you has fallen behind while I'm here. I didn't even pack a Bible. Dunno what I was thinking or not thinking I guess. I guess yay for the web.
Hong Kong was aight. I think my feelings of homesickness that I was still gripped by then, and the extra humidity and heat there just did not create the best me. But it was cool. I got to see lots of places (pics to be uploaded on fbook maybe by the end of the week). There's a lot of history there. A lot of disgusting materialism as there are malls literally every train stop... it's ridiculous. However... there are lots of camera shops that I got to peruse. I saw Leica's, and I was just like... I just want to hold you in your glory. Haha. I am a camera nerd. Much to learn, but I do enjoy it.
But Hong Kong is mad cramped. Everything goes up, and they have so many window AC units that walking around water drips from them on to the side walks... gross lol. It was just too much city for me, but there's some really great city views like Victoria Peak (do not recommend hiking tho, that was brutal; imagine the final stretch of Humpback but the entire hike... although if the weather was nice maybe better). And there's a fair amount of nature, I just didn't get a chance to see it due to limited time and it being far near the airport. Note this was the first time I'd ever been packed like sardines on a train. Not that fun lol. But seeing and catching up with SP was nice.
So would I ever come back to Hong Kong? Probably not... there's other places I'd rather go. I didn't really like it all that much, but I'm sure if I was with someone that really wanted to go, I'd suck it up for a couple days. Got to do some bargaining while I was there, haha fun stuff. We both gave each other the look of hey I know you're overcharging me cause I'm a foreigner, and they returned it with the ya I'm overcharging you, I know you have the money stop being a prick. Haha good times. But public transportation is legit guys. Japan and Hong Kong convinced me. These cars are wrecking us.
All this to say... I'm still mad excited to return next Sunday to the States. Sorta wish I could do another extended layover in Japan on the way back, but I won't push my luck. Let me know if you guys want souvenirs! You don't tell me, you don't get anything.
My random side note for this post: My laptop is legit dying. :( The frame around the screen is cracking, and it's all over just started to fall apart... I want it to last one more year, but dunno if it will. Fingers crossed!
No comments:
Post a Comment