Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Manila Part 5

Today was one of the few times, when I've just paused without wanting to take a photo. I walked over an hour (there and back) to eat korean food. Worth? Totally worth it. It was this small hole in the wall place that was pretty cheap, 5 bucks for yukgaejang, and got mandoo and a mango smoothie for a grand total of like 9-10 bucks?

But back to my story... I was walking in the red light district (because that's where the korean food is), and I saw this woman digging through a trash bag. Which pretty much broke my heart, and while normally I would want to take pics, I just let my camera hang by my side.

This past weekend, I was able to go to an area called Intramuros which is a more historical area. I got to see a mini festival, part of a wedding there, and some street market stuff. Overall it was incredible. But from the view point on top of a fort wall, I could see part of the slums. And my co-worker that was showing me around was like ya.... I don't want to take you there.

It's interesting... I'm in the business area, and if I walk 30 minutes away, you can see the difference in buildings, and prob another 30 minutes of walking, and I should be careful of where I'm at. I dunno... just lots of random things to think about. Overall tho, I'm starting to see the appeal of Manila. I wouldn't mind living here for maybe a year although... the air here sucks. And traffic is ridiculous, like absolutely ridiculous. Nova is nothing. And public transportation here is not very good.

So Japan is the best lol, but Manila is pretty cool. I'm sorta sad to be leaving on Sunday, but I'm also cramming in as much as I can before I leave. I can feel my body dying on me. Much more to say, but I'll leave at this for now. I prob won't get to have a nice thoughtful blog/edit my several hundred pics until after I get back. But we'll see.

No comments:

Post a Comment