Tokyo was the most amazing place ever.
I want to live in Japan. Hands down. Clean, polite, busy yet organized. Everything flows well, so much efficiency. I landed at Narita (Chiba Prefecture), went to Tokyo and ended up in Yokohoma (Chiba prefecture. I didn't take as many pics as I expected, but I should be posting them up soon enough. But I don't know how else to describe it as amazing. I honestly felt like things clicked, and I just want to live there.
I stayed at two different hostels (first time) and it wasn't that bad at all. The first night, I didn't sleep well, but the second night I did. (Asakusa Smile in Asakusa Tokyo), and then Yokohoma Hostel Village (near Ishikawakacho station). And I walked so freaking much... haha. But I got to see so much. I had the best tour guide ever, and she definitely helped make the trip better. But I think I would have loved it regardless, mainly because I was in love.
Asakusa is an older area of Tokyo that is quite pretty and peaceful, and Yokohoma is a little more spacious than Tokyo and right by the ocean. I got to see where Commodore Perry came to Japan. And many other random sites. I even got my fortune at a shrine haha. Oh man... I feel like I just got shoved in and overwhelmed with site seeing. But the best thing I bought there? I got an extension tube for macro shots for roughly $10 bucks at a flea market. But it's worth more than that. Also I didn't really have any jet lag. Walking around so much was the best thing ever cause I was exhausted at the end of the day so I just slept like normal.
And guys.... you can get lost in Tokyo and Yokohoma, at least where I was and not worry about getting mugged. I got back form Shibuya to Asakusa around 11:30 pm and got lost trying to find my way back. Took me a while, but I finally figured it out. I felt so safe. I can't even do that in C'ville. And I'm Manila worries me quite a bit more.
Day 1
Land, train in. Walk around Asakusa and eat. Shibuya, walked to some super tall tower for skyline seeing. Honestly... I give up trying to keep an exact list. I can't remember all the names of the places I went to haha. But I'll consolidate for my memories sake.
Day 2
Yasukuni Shrine, Old Imperial Palace, Tokyo Station (ate freaking amazing Tsukemen here) Yokohoma (port, a mini Pokemon center haha, Chinatown). So pretty.
Walking around was so nice guys I can't emphasize it enough. I just love Japan.
Although I have to admit my second night there, I got swept over with a sense of loneliness. Basically said goodbye to my friend who showed me around, and I realized... I was alone in that country. And that hit me like a tsunami wave. Luckily I was so freaking tired that I just passed out. But to be honest that emotion has carried over here to Manila. And I think what's harder for me, is I'm staying at a 4-Star Hotel. And it's not settling well because I know that 15-20 minutes away there's poverty. Honestly, I'm more comfortable at a hostel than I am at this hotel. They rush to help me, with simple stupid stuff. I was like oh I need a pair of scissors, and they said we'll deliver it to your room. What???? No I can pick it up. Please sir, I will send my colleague shortly... lol. Also I'm in this super touristy/business area of Manila.
I just see malls right around my place. And it's like a American ish. And it's jiving with my sense of not spending money. When I was in Japan, I didn't really buy any souvenirs, instead just pictures and memories experiencing culture and such. But where I am in Manila, it's harder. I bought some clothes at Uniqlo, mainly cause it's cheaper here lol. And I love Japanese stuff. But rest assured I have plans for my second to last weekend, where I'm just going to explore per Chris Liu's instructions.
But to expound upon that sadness... I can keep myself busy and avoid thinking about it. But it's still there. This overwhelming reality that I don't know anyone here. Hopefully I get along well with my co-workers or something, otherwise this 3 weeks is going to systematically destroy me. Funny how I never gave CL that much sympathy. I owe him my deepest apologies because this is hard. And I have my first night shift tonight. Ugh... I also need to prep for training quite a bit. I just want to go home tho... maybe after Hong Kong and seeing SP. Sigh, traveling should be done with a friend. You might get mad at each other and need some time by yourselves, but having someone to talk to is crucial.
Side note: It's so hot and humid here... omg.... Even less reason for me to go outside. I also fell asleep on the plane ride to Manila, and woke up with my resting on the guy's shoulder sitting next to me... lol. Thankfully wasn't for very long.
And another side note, I tried to stay up last night so I could sleep during the day.
Ultimate fail. I slept crappily for like 6 hours. Enough to be too awake to pass out, but tired enough to feel off. Sigh. Let me know if you want to skype or something :) would seriously restore my sanity here haha. Plus on the weekdays I'll be operating on your hours. Working the equivalent of 9-6 in USA, 12 hour difference.
Short Version
I love Japan, and I hope I don't go crazy in Manila.
No comments:
Post a Comment